INTERNATIONAL SAMU SOCIAL

Samu Social

Samu Social International (SSI) is an International Solidarity Association, created in 1998 by Dr. Xavier Emmanuelli, whose mission is to support the creation and development of emergency services for people in great distress, living on the street, and in particular children and adolescents.
Convinced that the great exclusion is a problem experienced by all the major cities, both in western and developing countries, Dr Emmanuelli created the ISS based on the experience and method of the Samu Social Paris, whose implementation he had initiated five years earlier.

© Samu Social


The project

The association intervenes by supporting the Social Samu that it has created in 16 countries in Europe, Africa and South America, particularly among street children in Cairo, Tunis, Algiers, Casablanca, Ouagadougou, Bamako, Dakar, Luanda, Libreville, Moscow, Bucharest, Lima, Cayenne.

Mobile teams travel the streets by day and by night to provide medical, psychological and social care to the most deprived people in their places of residence, while ISS and its social partners also have day care centres, care centres and residential centres.

Our engagement

The association works in a network with public and private structures that manage the global care of people with disabilities, to strengthen their prospects for social, professional or family integration. The SSI carries out an advocacy mission to alert public authorities on the causes and evolution of severe exclusion and propose appropriate responses.

The association also has a mandate for university teaching, continuing education and action research, in order to contribute to a better knowledge of populations in situations of great exclusion, and to a better care of these people.

Since 2018, our support amounts to €20 000.

For more information

SAMU SOCIAL INTERNATIONAL

Samu Social

Le Samu Social international (SSI) est une Association de Solidarité Internationale, créée en 1998 par le Dr Xavier Emmanuelli, dont la mission est d’accompagner la création et le développement de dispositifs d’urgence pour les personnes en grande détresse, vivant à la rue, et en particulier les enfants et les adolescents.

Convaincu que la grande exclusion est un problème que connaissent toutes les grandes métropoles, aussi bien au Nord qu’au Sud,  le Dr Emmanuelli a créé le SSI en se basant sur l’expérience et la méthode du Samu Social Paris, dont il avait initié la mise en place cinq ans auparavant.

© Samu Social


Le projet

L’association intervient en appuyant les Samu sociaux qu’il a créé dans 16 pays, en Europe, en Afrique et en Amérique du Sud, notamment auprès des enfants des rues du Caire, de Tunis, Alger, Casablanca, Ouagadougou,  Bamako, Dakar,  Luanda, Libreville, Moscou, Bucarest, Lima, Cayenne.

Des équipes mobiles parcourent les rues de jour comme de nuit pour prodiguer des soins médico-psycho-sociaux aux personnes les plus démunies, sur leurs lieux de vie.
Le SSI et ses partenaires samu sociaux disposent également de centres d’accueil de jour, de centres de soins et de centres d’hébergement.

Notre engagement

L’association travaille en réseau avec les structures publiques et privées qui gèrent la prise en charge globale des personnes accompagnées, pour renforcer leurs perspectives d’intégration sociale, professionnelle ou familiale.

Le SSI exerce aussi une mission de plaidoyer pour alerter les pouvoirs publics sur les causes et l’évolution de la grande exclusion, et proposer des réponses adaptées.

L’association s’est aussi donné pour mandat l’enseignement universitaire, la formation continue et la recherche-action, afin de contribuer à une meilleure connaissance des populations en situation de grande exclusion, et à une meilleure prise en charge de ces personnes.

Depuis 2018, notre soutien s’élève à 20 000 €.

Pour en savoir plus